Art: Portrait of Picasso

Charcoal portrait of Picasso

Charcoal on paper – portrait of Picasso

 

This is a charcoal portrait of Pablo Picasso that I was doing. Technically, it’s a work-in-progress, but someone who saw it in this state fell in love with it and ended up buying it as-is. This isn’t the full piece; it’s actually an 18″x24″ piece, with a lot of my grid marks and pencil guidelines still in place. But the client loved it this way, and I found some poetry in the piece this way as well, given the subject matter. There’s just something fitting about a portrait of Picasso, known for his abstraction and cubism, being portrayed in an unfinished piece.

Publishing News: The Book of K

The Book of K

The Book of K

My first novella, ‘The Book of K,’ is now available in the Amazon Kindle store as well as in print edition, also on Amazon (anyone who purchases a print edition can get the Kindle edition for free).

It is a supernatural horror/weird fiction story that will appeal to fans of H.P. Lovecraft, Indiana Jones, gothic horror, historic fiction, Steampunk, and more. It can be purchased here:

The Book of K by Rob Salem

Atlas

It weighs heavy, this being,
who I am, but more so
who I am not;
this burden of life,
of living and loving
is taking its toll-
shoulders sag,
the head bows,
knees buckle,
the back breaks,
beneath a world
that could so easily forget,
but…

…I stand.

untitled

It beckons:
a moment that’s only
a breath away,
the space between
life and death where
living really happens;
a chance,
a risk,
a rush,
and the hope forgetting
what brought me here,
the thrill of the storm
charging the blood,
until the fire burns out
and the sweetness of pain
replaces the bitterness of being.